Kissed By The Sun Photography Blog

November 21, 2010

Fantasy Manipulation

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kissed By The Sun Photography @ 7:42 pm

      For this weeks project I chose to do something different.  Darrien Sisk was my inspiration, because she is always making manipulations and things on Photoshop; and I wanted to try it too.    I looked at a whole bunch of fantasy landscapes on google, and didn’t really find an exact tutorial I wanted to do; so I just used all the ideas put together and made my own creation.
For this, I used a forest landscape for the background.  Then I used a moon picture and placed it in the sky, and erased around it.  For the foreground I found a picture of a prince on a horse, and a dragon, and placed both of those in the land.  It took me about three days to do the erasing around those pictures!  Then after that I just flattened the image, used an HDR filter, and applied a vignette around the edges. 
For the second picture, I put the picture back in Photoshop, and tried putting a fog/mist around the bottom of the photo to add more to it.  I’m still not sure which one I like better, (top or bottom) picture. So I just put them both on here.  Overall, I really like how it came out. And next time I do this, I hope I can get it done a little faster so I can do more than one manipulation.

1 Comment »

  1. Looks really nice- a couple of things.
    1. Be sure to cite where you get your photos from. The one of the guy on the horse looks like an Annie Leibovitz photo that Disney commissioned her to shoot, both Disney and Leibovitz are not real fond of copyright infringements. This goes for ANY photo that you are grabbing off the net. Also, remember copyright law, just because it is on the net does not mean that you can grab it and do what you want with it.
    For the project, the biggest thing that I can see is- don’t forget about shadows under the figures in the image. Subtle shadows can make it much more believable. Nice work and yes, cutouts take a long time.

    Comment by Twitchell — December 21, 2010 @ 12:48 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.