Kissed By The Sun Photography Blog

June 8, 2011

Advanced Photo Final

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kissed By The Sun Photography @ 7:28 pm

For this week I worked on my final.  For my final, I used PhotoGraphic Magazine for my resource.  The website is http://www.photographic.com/ and most of the same pictures and information that I got from the magazine are found on this webpage.  For the theme of my final, I focused on just nature pictures, such as; trees, flowers, landscape and animals.  P.S. I also made a new (Kissed By The Sun) logo that I put on all of my pictures.

The Photography Final-

  • Rule of Thirds: (1st Picture)- {2 Dogs}  For this picture I photographed a neighbors dog, in a grass field.  In Lightroom, I changed the photo to sepia and added a vignette to the edges, because I liked the feel it gave the photo, better than it did in color. Then I used Photoshop to add a grunge texture to the picture, and put it on overlay, and then erased the texture from the dog.I added another one of the dog below the sepia one, to show one that I liked in color. For the one in color, I used Photoshop to add a HDR effect to it.
  • Leading Lines: (2nd Picture)- {Sidewalk to fence} For this picture I got down at ground level, and got a picture of a sidewalk leading to a fence.  I like this photo a lot because of the colors and the detail the picture has.  For editing I used lightroom to add a filter called “Yesteryear 1”, and then I used Photoshop to add a grunge texture to the photo.  Then I manually gave the picture a vignette effect with the burn tool.
  • Natural Framing: (3rd Picture)- {Boat and Dog} For the boat picture I framed a boat between trees down at the river.  I didn’t have to do much editing to the photo, except for burn around the edges for a vignette, and adjust the levels.   I like how the photo came out, and like the blue colors of the photo, along with the reflection in the water of the boat.For the picture of the dog…  The dog was staring at me while I was taking my simplicity photo of a flower down by the lake, and decided to take a photograph of it for my framing photo.  I liked how the dog was poking its head from the doggie doors, and was being framed by that and the wooded frame of the house door. For editing I just adjusted the levels and gave the picture a HDR effect.  I think the picture is really cute, and worked good for framing.
  • Creative use of LARGE Depth of field: (4th Picture)- {Lake} For this picture I got a picture of the lake down at the river. I took both the bushes and trees, while having the lake and the mountains are in focus also.  I shot directly into the sun, which made it really bright around the sun and gave it a natural lens glare effect. I added a little more lens flare in Photoshop to add some of the glare circles.  I like the picture a lot, and think it came out a really nice landscape.
  • Creative use of Limited Depth of Field: (5th Picture)- {Bleeding Hearts} This one came out to be one of my favorites. I love the bleeding heart flowers, and decided to photograph them for my limited depth of field photo.  I focused on the main bleeding heart photo in the middle, and made the background and some side flowers blurry.  On Photoshop I just added a grunge texture, and added a vignette around the edges. I think this photo is really pretty, and I love the colors and  how clear/sharp the picture came out.
  • Image that shows Balance: (6th Picture)- {Trees} For this picture, I went into the cemetery, and got on the ground, and shot up at the two symmetrical trees.  This was the best I could find, and I didn’t think it was going to come out that great, but I think it actually came out looking pretty good.  I used Lightroom to add a vignette, and add contrast/vibrance to the photo.
  • A creative viewpoint (not eye level) (7th Picture)- {Bird house and Tree} For these two pictures I laid on my back, on the ground, and shot up at the tree.  For the bird house one, I got the  birdhouse along with the tree, and for the other I just got a picture of the tree and its branches. For editing, I just used Photoshop and adjusted the levels and added a light vignette to the edges. I like the bird house picture better, but I wanted of show both of what I got.
  • Simplicity: (8th Picture)- {Yellow Flower} For this picture I just photographed the inside of a flower, and in Photoshop I used the Dodge tool to brighten up some dark/shaded areas of the photo.  I like this picture, and like the detail of the inside of the flower.
  • YOUR CHOICE- (9th Picture)- {Squirrels} For this picture I did a clone of a squirrel.  I took to pictures of the squirrel and in Photoshop I merged them both together. I tried my best to math up the lighting of both squirrel because the lighting was off.  I also tried to get the photo to look as realistic as I could, and I think all together it came out good, and pretty realistic looking.
  • YOUR CHOICE- (10th Picture)- {Yellow Daisies} This picture came out to be one of my bests. To shoot this photo, I put the camera under the flowers, and shot upwards towards the sky.  I had to do it over and over until I got the flowers to be I focus, and this is the best that I got.  I like how it came out, and think this perspective looks really cool.  In Photoshop I used a grunge texture over the photo and used it on overlay.
  • BUSINESS PORTRAIT (LAST PICTURE)-  For my last photo, I did my business portrait of Brenden.  Studio lighting isnt my best, but I did the best that I could with what I had.  The right side of Brendens face is a little blown out, and I tried to fix it with moving the lights… but It just wasnt working out.  This is the best picture that I got out of the ones I took.

1 Comment »

  1. Nice images once again.
    I like the new watermark. I would recommend picking one spot- one corner- and be consistent with it.
    Fantastic work.
    When you are in college, be sure to take business classes to help you prepare for making millions of dollars as a photographer.
    It has been an honor to watch you grow as a photographer.
    Keep shooting and keep posting.

    Comment by Twitchell — June 9, 2011 @ 2:36 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

